This Not That- Cruelty Free Versions of every day products

I often get asked by friends and family, “what is a good CF version of ____?”.

I will often have an answer, and if not, the internet usually helps me find a suggestion for their question!

Recently, my husband and I have purchased quite a few ‘replacements’ ourselves.
Please keep in mind that after I decided to go completely CF, I wasn’t going to throw money down the drain and get rid of everything I had in my house, but decided to slowly replace things as they ran out.

Fortunately I kept a lot of the bottles or we have just a tiny bit left, so I decided to post and show you some Cruelty Free options for common, ‘every day’, products!

Try This
IMG_0568.JPG

Not That
IMG_0569.JPG

Laundry Detergent
Try Seventh Generation’s Natural Laundry Detergent in Free and Clear as a replacement for Tide’s Free and Gentle.

If you have sensitive skin or prefer to not have added dyes and perfumes in your laundry detergent, then give this a try!
Seventh Generation makes fantastic products that are plant based and get the job done. The detergent works in hot and cold water, is HE approved and gets the funk and junk out of your clothing!
Get it at Target, Whole Foods, even my local Giant Eagle carries it.

Disinfecting Wipes
Try Seventh Generation’s instead of Clorox.

I NEED disinfecting wipes in my life. I love natural cleansers and all, but sometimes I just feel like there are germs forming an army on my countertops and going to attack.
I mostly feel this way after making chicken dishes because I am terrified of salmonella-don’t ask me why because I have no idea. Just am.
The Seventh Generation wipes kill 99.99% of germs botanically including influenza, H1N1, rhinovirus and salmonella just to name a few! They clean sticky messes well and have a pleasant lemongrass smell.
I got mine at Target, but this is most likely available at other places that sell Seventh Generation products!

Air Freshener
Try Method’s Air Refresher instead of Febreeze Air Effects.

Ok, this is a really new one! I grabbed this up when I saw a new products display at Target. I had not yet found a CF replacement for air freshener, and was having a hard time finding information online. I was SO happy to see Method had come out with one because seriously, sometimes candles don’t cut it. I grabbed the beach sage smell, but there were two other smells available!

Method products are fantastic replacements for other household products. They are mineral or vegetable or plant based, smell great and get the job done! Also, unlike a lot of products out there for home, they list the ingredients-even on air spray! Which is great if you are allergic to something!

Toothpaste
Try Tom’s of Maine Sensitive instead of Sensodyne Pronamel.

If you have sensitive teeth and are just making the switch to natural toothpaste, like my husband is, Tom’s of Maine is a great toothpaste that is similar to big name brands in a lot of ways.

This version has fluoride in it and the same anti sensitivity ingredient-potassium nitrate, but the potassium nitrate is naturally derived and not synthetic!
It has a minty flavor to it and the texture of Tom’s toothpastes are very similar to other brands.
Now I don’t think the Tom’s of Maine will help to re-harden enamel, but I don’t know alot about enamel anyways.

Tom’s of Maine is owned by Colgate-Palmolive, so even though the brand has retained their cruelty free practices, they are owned by a ‘parent’ company that is not CF. This is one of they grey areas of cruelty free products, and is up to YOU to decide if you want to use it or not. If you do not, check out toothpastes by Hello or Jason
Tom’s of Maine is available in a lot of retailers from Whole Foods to Walgreens.

Acne Face Wash
Try Alba Botanica’s Good&Clean Gentle Acne Wash instead of Neutrogena’s Acne Stress Control.

Acne. Ugh. Everyone deals with blemishes in some way, but if you need a more powerful oil banishing face wash, try this out.

The Alba Botanica line is great! No parabens, phtalates, synthetic fragrance, artificial colors, or sodium lauryl/laureth sulfates.
For acne, this face wash has 1.0% of salicylic acid and also combines willow bark extract and their ‘fruit acid detox fusion’ to get a good clean and treat acne.
My husband uses this and said that it smells good, does what it says it should and while it is a bit drying on the skin, it is nothing a moisturizer won’t fix.
Again, I got mine at Target, but I have seen it in other retailers.

Speaking of which…
Facial Moisturizer
Try EO Products Everyone Face Moisturizer instead of Cetaphil Lotion.

Oh Cetaphil. Giant bottles of product that work on a lot of skin tones for super affordable prices. Unfortunately, the amount of moisturizer I was using meant my bottle was extremely past the shelf life.
And while I wasn’t having any major issues with the lotion, it wasn’t doing anything amazing. When my husband said he was out of facial moisturizer and didn’t use the Cetaphil, I decided it was time to get a new one!

Everyone Face Moisturizer was actually something he grabbed off the shelf while I was examining another product. I had never seen this brand before so I checked out the ingredients real quick, saw the Leaping Bunny logo, and read the front label. The product says that it is a “light, easily a absorbed ageless moisturizer”-just what I needed.

I didn’t find too many reviews on it after a quick google search, but had a good feeling about it and decided to get it.

It is a lighter moisturizer that doesn’t grease up during the day, is non-comedogenic, natural, paraben free, etc. It has a faint herbal scent to it, but it is not overwhelming to me.
This is a brand new product, so far so good, but I will continue to watch what it does to my skin.
We got this at Whole Foods, but I am sure it is available elsewhere too.

Foot Powder
Try Lush’s T for Toes instead of Gold Bond Medicated Foot Powder.

This is a product that I am unsure of their animal testing policies and consider non-CF until I get further information. There are resources saying opposite things, and neither the website for this product or their parent-company site is very helpful. I will be emailing them personally to find out more.

Lush’s foot powder has tea tree oil, lime, horsetail herb and walnut leaf combined with kaolin and sodium bicarbonate (baking soda) to fight off bacteria that might get into our warm sweaty socks and create foot problems!
It helps to keep feet dry and bacteria free, plus the light lime smell keeps your feet from getting too stinky!
Of course, this is available in LUSH stores, or online

These are just a few of the cruelty free options for everyday, household and skin products out there!
Don’t be afraid to try something new or something that isn’t reviewed-check out the ingredients and see what the description says, who knows, it may be your next favorite product!
What is your favorite CF everyday product and feel free to leave questions!

7 thoughts on “This Not That- Cruelty Free Versions of every day products

  1. Awesome post! Me and fellow cruelty free blogger Brianna from Cruelty Free Me do a series “This to That” for cruelty alternatives to products we liked before making the CF switch- I’m just about to write one up too, glad someone else is on this bandwagon too 😀

  2. I’m going to have to try that foot powder…my feet get bad sometimes (TMI) but I have to use socks/slippers even in the house because I get cold feet.

Leave a Reply

